Key Stage 1 (KS1)

Key Stage 1 is made up of Years 1 and 2:

  • Year 1 – for children aged 5/6 years, and we have three classes of 30 children in each.
  • Year 2 – for children aged 6/7 years, and we have three classes of 30 children in each.

Children in Key Stage 1 are taught twelve curriculum subjects:

The curriculum is enhanced by educational visits and visitors into school. The extended curriculum also features workshops and whole school activity weeks.

Sex and Relationship Education (SRE) is included in the curriculum for PSHE, Science and RE. Parents have the right to withdraw their child from all or part of the SRE provided. The Headteacher must be informed if parents wish to exercise this right.

For more information, read the guide below from the Department for Education:

Curriculum Overviews

These are Curriculum Overviews for each half term. We wanted to share with you the rich learning experiences our children will encounter across our broad and balanced curriculum and we encourage all our families to talk to their child about their learning.

The newest overviews are at the top:

Year 2 Assessment Information

The following documents explain more about the National Assessments that take place for Year 2 children: