EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)

The Early Years Foundation Stage is made up of our three Reception classes, each of which have 30 children aged 4/5 years.

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language Development
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

For more information, read the guide below from the Department for Education:

Curriculum Overviews

These are Curriculum Overviews for each half term. We wanted to share with you the rich learning experiences our children will encounter across our broad and balanced curriculum and we encourage all our families to talk to their child about their learning.

The newest overviews are at the top: