Governing Board

A Message from our Chair of Governors

The Governors would like to welcome you to St Laurence Church Infant School . We work closely with the staff and parents to ensure our school is a wonderful place for the children to learn. They have fun, learning in a happy, safe, Christian environment, where all are encouraged and helped to achieve their best.

The staff are friendly and approachable, and committed to providing our children with a high level of education. All of the Governors visit the school on a regular basis and join in many of the activities and visits. We are sure your children will be happy and thrive at St Laurence Church Infant School.

Mr Hill, Chair of Governors

Governing Board Members

NameType of Governor
Mr Richard HillChair of Governors, Foundation - Parochial Church Council
Mr Thomas BlewittVice Chair of Governors, Foundation - Diocese
Mrs Emma RiordanFoundation - Parochial Church Council
Mr James TromansFoundation - Parochial Church Council
Mr Moez SomaniFoundation - Diocese
Ms Rachel YoungFoundation - Diocese
(vacancy)Foundation - Ex-Officio
Mrs Kathryn ThorpParent Governor
Mr Thom WareingParent Governor
Ms Sheena RancinsLA Governor
Mrs Catherine SmithHeadteacher
Mrs Lorraine SharpStaff
Mrs Flavia HighfieldClerk to the Governors

Governing Board Information

The GB of St Laurence Church Infant School comprises the following category of Governors:

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 LA Governor
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 Head Teacher Governor
  • 3 Foundation Governors appointed by the Diocese
  • 3 Foundation Governors appointed by the Parochial Church Council
  • 1 Foundation Governor Ex-Officio

Individual Governors are allocated responsibilities in the areas of:

  • SEND – Sheena Rancins
  • Safeguarding – Moez Somani
  • SDP priorities – Kathryn Thorp
  • Health & Safety – Emma Riordan
  • Pupil Premium – Tom Blewitt
  • Governor training (responsibility of the Clerk)

The Chair of the Governing Board is Richard Hill, and the Vice-Chair is Tom Blewitt.

The whole Governing Board meets four times each year and the committees meet 3/4 times each year.

Diversity Information

As a school we recognise that a diversity of thought, voices and perspectives is essential to good governance and the effective running of any organisation. We regularly collect diversity information from our governors and, depending on current data, can use this to:

  • Target recruitment to address gaps in experience and diversity;
  • Develop and adapt board practices to ensure full participation;
  • Prioritise training and awareness-raising in identified areas;
  • Address potential ‘blind spots’ through seeking wider advice and perspectives on current and upcoming opportunities, challenges and risks.

However we are unable to publish this information as it would mean that individual members of our governing body are identifiable.